Poem, “Raised By”

I WAS RAISED BY A PAIR OF ACTIVISTS WHO DID EVERYTHING THEY COULD TO LIVE IN A WORLD WHERE I WAS ACCEPTED FOR WHO I WAS.
 
I WAS RAISED BY A MOTHER WHO WAS QUICK TO ANGER AT THE WORLD AROUND US AND SET OUT TO FIX IT.
 
I WAS RAISED BY A FATHER WHO WAS THERE WITH A SOFT WORD AND A HUG.
 
I WAS RAISED BY DOZENS OF PEOPLE WHO CAME OVER TO PLAY WITH ME.
 
I WAS RAISED BY PEOPLE WHO LOVED ME FROM AFAR, FROM ACROSS THE OCEAN AND THREE PLANE RIDES AWAY.
 
LONG I HAVE PRESENTED MYSELF KNOWING THAT THESE PEOPLE WERE MY TRIBE. LOVE TAKES MANY FORMS. MY FAVORITE IS HUMAN.
Leave a Reply

