Recent Email from a Mom

Recent email: “I am the Mom of two guys who experience autism. …I saw that you had written, “Stop listening to people who tell you that autistics are stupid. I am here to tell you otherwise.” I just wanted to write you this: Good job with that statement you wrote! Both of our sons are VERY smart, too, as well as kind and well-informed. We do not call our sons, “autistics,” though: they are MORE than the condition they have (the autism). That is, they are PEOPLE who have a CONDITION, just as people who cannot see are not simply, “the Blind,” but instead are people whose eyes do not see (they are “sight-challenged,” etc.). Anyway, I am glad you want to go into high school, and I hope someday you will be able to go to college to study science, as you also wrote. You keep strong and positive, okay?:)”

THE WORDS I CHOOSE TO USE TO REFERENCE MYSELF HAVE SIGNIFICANCE. THAT MEANS THEY ARE ONLY IMPORTANT TO ME. YOU CHOOSE TO DIMINISH THAT YOUR SONS HAVE AUTISM. THAT IS YOUR CHOICE. BUT I WONDER HOW THEY WOULD REFER TO THEMSELVES? WHAT YOU CALL THEM IS ONLY IMPORTANT IF THEY DO NOT AGREE.

Leave a Reply

